Quick Trip Home to California … Waaaaayyy Too Quick

I flew out of Grand Junction, Colorado, leaving Mike and Lucy to fend for themselves while this California girl enjoyed a week with daughter and family.

I left Mike here at James M. Robb State Park in Colorado.

I left Mike here at James M. Robb State Park in Colorado.

My regularly scheduled skin cancer screening appointments with my dermatologist in California give me a great excuse to fly home for a great big dose of loving warm fuzzies from the family.

Me and My Daughter Kimberly

Me and Kimberly

Paige and Kimberly

Paige and Kimberly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was welcomed by my granddaughter Paige with a trail of these love notes leading up the stairs to her bedroom which she shares with me when I’m in town: “First of all, I love you!” “I love your smile” “I love your laugh” “Your smile makes me smile” “Your laugh makes me laugh” “You are such a great photographer” “You are a great mom” “A great wife” “and a great grandparent” “I don’t know what I would do without you” “You are so thoughtful and caring” “You are so motherly” “Who can resist? No one” “My friend and I agree that you look 50” “I love your hugs” “You give great advice” “I am so lucky to have you in my life” “I can’t wait for the summer trip” “Please stay longer” “I love you no matter what” And the final note pictured below:

10 California Visit - 0511 California Visit - 06

Garrett, Kailyn, Brady, Me, Paige, Kimberly

Garrett, Kailyn, Brady, Me, Paige, Kimberly at Brady’s 7th Birthday Party

I intentionally planned my trip home to coincide with my granddaughter Kailyn’s school play.  She played “Tootles”, one of the Lost Boys in Peter Pan.  Kailyn is a natural on stage.  (She also belongs to Toastmasters and the school chorus)  She has a strong, clear speaking voice, a pitch-perfect singing voice, and a beautiful face.  It was quite a production (3 hours!) that the cast and crew have been working on since September, complete with set changes, lighting and sound crew, intermission, and all the stuff that goes into a professional stage production.  They performed the play once for all the students during school hours, 3 evenings, and a Saturday matinee.  She was, of course, fantastic.

Kailyn, as Tootles in Peter Pan

Kailyn, as Tootles, one of the Lost Boys in the stage production of Peter Pan

12 California Visit - 60 12b California Visit - 64 12c California Visit - 69 12d California Visit - 70

Garrett’s high school baseball season has finished, and now he has been recruited to play on a Garciaparra Baseball Group team.  GBG is a premier high school level baseball club focused on development for college recruitment.  He will be traveling with the team to Phoenix for a week of tournament play in a couple of weeks.  We are so excited for him to have this opportunity.

Garrett playing First Base

Garrett playing First Base

Got it

Got it

 

 

 

 

15d Garrett GBG Conejo Baseball

Proud Parents, Lance and Kimberly

Garrett (r) receives Most Inspirational Player Award at school

Garrett (r) receives Most Inspirational Player Award at school

I was so excited that Paige had a soccer tournament that weekend.  She is a defender, and she’s very good at it.  But she loved that she got the opportunity to play forward during part of one of the games in the tournament, and she got the assist on a goal!  It was so fun to watch!  Her team went undefeated all weekend and won the tournament.  Woo-hoo!

16a California Visit - 13616b California Visit - 128

 

 

 

 

 

16e California Visit - 14816d California Visit - 152

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Champions!

Champions!

Blake plays high school varsity soccer, but that season ended months ago.  He earned the MVP Award at that time.  Since then he has been playing on an adult club team after being recruited by his high school coach.  I caught a pic of Blake as he was coming home from a practice.

Blake looking disheveled after soccer practice, but still handsome as ever!

Blake looking disheveled after soccer practice, but still handsome as ever!

Blake and Holly - Prom Night

Blake and Holly – Prom Night

This is a pic of Garrett and his girlfriend, Briana.  She is an outstanding softball player who was featured in the local paper for her athletic skills.  She is the only freshman on the Varsity Girls Softball Team at their high school.

Garrett and Briana

Garrett and Briana

And, not to be outdone in the ‘girlfriend’ department, here is Brady with just one of his many princesses at the Fairy Tale Ball.

Brady at the Fairy Tale Ball

Brady at the Fairy Tale Ball

May proved to be a big month for accomplishments and awards for everyone.  My family is a motivated and dedicated group of people who just LOVE what they do!

Garrett earns the Leadership Award at school.

Garrett earns the Leadership Award at his high school HSA program

Paige qualifies for the 125-mile club for running

Paige qualifies for the 125 Mile Club for all the miles she ran this school year

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kailyn earns awards in Math, Reading, and the 6 Pillars of Character

Kailyn earns awards in Math, Accelerated Reading, and Exemplary Character

Lance and the Ventura County Fire Department win 2nd Place in the Annual Fallen Firefighters Tournament in Las Vegas.  Sean completes his first full marathon.

Lance on the Ventura County Fire Department baseball team win 2nd place in the Annual Fallen Firefighters Tournament in Las Vegas

Lance

Sean completed his first full Marathon

Sean

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paige gave me a parting gift which was a little compact mirror in a mesh gift bag with the following note:

The person pictured in this bag is one of the most special gifts in my life.  I love you.

The person pictured in this bag is one of the most special gifts in my life. I love you.

The kids got up early to say goodbye as Kimberly and I headed to the airport.25 Blake Garrett Paige and Mamma26 Kimberly and me

Goodbye for now, California

Goodbye for now, California

Hello, Colorado

Hello, Colorado

 

 

6 thoughts on “Quick Trip Home to California … Waaaaayyy Too Quick

  1. How nice that you got to return to California long enough to enjoy a few of the grandchildren’s activities:) I love attending all those things. I’m sure it was a very tough good bye. You must be bursting with pride for all their accomplishments. Thanks for sharing:)

  2. Family is wonderful! You got to do so much with all of them. Plus they are so talented! But theprecious love notes are just that… Precious! Loved those! I am in the Midwest now visiting family as well. It is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

